Skip to main content
  • Temperature:26 ℃
  • PoP:80%

There are now nine national parks in Taiwan

  • Kenting National Park, the first to be established on January 1, 1984, includes a beautiful coast line, beach area and tropical forest.(land area 17,731 hectares and sea area 14,900 hectares)
  • Yushan National Park, the largest land area of the eight national parks, includes the central mountain area of Taiwan.(105,490 hectares)
  • Yangmingshan National Park, the smallest land area of the eight national parks, has a volcanic landform.(11,456 hectares)
  • Taroko National Park is famous for its marble gorge. Taroko National Park alone has an area of 92,000 hectares(approximately 227,336 acres). The park established on November 28, 1986.
  • Shei-Pa National Park is famous for the Formosan landlocked salmon (Oncorhychus masou formosanum).(76,850 hectares and established on July 1, 1992)
  • Kinmen National Park, the park land area is the smallest of the national parks in Taiwan and its main goal to preserve historical battle-fields and traditional villages.(3,780 hectares and established on October 18, 1995)
  • Dongsha Atoll Marine National Park established on January 17, 2007 and is a complete coral reef with a unique marine ecology and high level of bio-diversity. It is a vital habitat for South China Sea and Taiwan's ocean resourceswith a total area of 353667.95 hectares. The park is only 174 hectares land area and the rest of areas are covered with sea.
  • Taijiang National Park is located in the southwest of Taiwan and has a planned area of 39,310 hectares, of which land will account for 4,905 hectares.(established on Dec. 28,2009)
  • The South Penghu Marine National Park, the ninth national park and the second marine national park of Taiwan is born in 2014 after ratified by the Executive Yuan and announced by Ministry of the Interior. It is located between Wangan and Chimei of Penghu and consists of four main islands Dongjiyu, Xijiyu, Donyupingyu,Xiyupingyu, many islets, rocks and surrounding waters.

The total area of these nine national parks is over 750,071.95 hectares (approximately. 1,853,469.04 acres), including 438,573.8 hectares (approximately. 1,083,739.98 acres) of ocean and 311,498.15 hectares (approx. 769,729.06 acres) of land. The land area of the seven national parks accounts for 8.63% of Taiwan's total land area.

National Parks of Taiwan