Go to the main content section Anchor


Updated:2020-03-20 Viewing Count7412


Tianxiang Service Station
Recreation Zone
Tianxiang Recreation Area
480 m
QR Code
Geographic Code
Tianxiang is a large river terrace recreational area in Taroko National Park. Dasha River and Taci Jili River converge at Tianxiang to become Liwu River. The Sakuma Samata Shrine was erected here during the Japanese Era (1895-1945). When the Central Cross-Island Highway reached here Wen, Tianxiang Park was built at the top of the terrace. On the north-western side is the Tianxiang Youth Activity Center (Youth Hostel) and a Catholic Church is next to it. The original lovely Pudu suspension bridge was reconstructed into concrete in 2003 due to the safety reasons. At one end it has a tall White Robed Guanyin Statue. The 7-story high Tianfeng Pagoda, Giant Statute of the Bodhisattva, Xiangde Temple, and, in 1968, Daxiong Baodian temple, have been built on the terrace and have become popular spots for visitors and worshipers.

This area has large parking space, recreational Plum Garden, and the 5 star hotel-Silks Place Taroko. This is the only 5 star hotel in Taroko National Park. Behind the Silks Place Taroko Hotel is the Tianxiang Presbyterian Church.

Service Facitilies

Visitor Center、Service Station、Police Station、Shop、Food and Drink、Public Restroom、Parking Lot、Exhibition Hall、Bus Station、Accommodation、AED

Traffic Information

The Central Cross-Island Highway begins to ascend (from Taroko heading westwards) and narrows towards Tianxiang. As large vehicles often travel the highway, please pay extra attention to traffic safety.
1. From Hualien station: Take a Hualien Bus bound for Tianxiang (#1133), Luoshao (#1126), or Lishan (#1141) or #1133A (shuttle bus between Hualien and Tianxiang) and alight at Tianxiang.
2. From Xincheng train station: Take a 302 Taroko Bus run by Taroko bus company or take a 1133A or 1133 Hualien Bus run by Hualien bus company bound for Tianxiang.
3. From Taroko National Park Headquarters: Take a Hualien Bus # 1133A, #1133, #1126, #1141 bound for Tianxaing, Luoshao, or Lishan (or take a 302 Taroko bus bound for Tianxiang) and alight at Tunnel of Nine Turns (Jiuqudong).
4. From Tianxiang: Take a Hualien Bus #1133A, #1133, #1126, #1141 bound for Hualien. Or take a 302 Taroko Bus, or take a Hualien Bus #1133 or # 1133A bound for Taroko N. P. HQ and Xincheng train station.
1. From Taroko (at 186.5km) follow the Central Cross-Island Highway (Highway 8) westward to Tianxiang at 168.5 km.
2. From Mt. Hehuan or Dayuling areas, follow the Central Cross-Island Highway eastwards to 168.5 km at Tianxiang.